Meryl Streep, Michael B. Jordan, Oprah, Sofia Coppola to be honored at Film Academy Museum Gala

Meryl Streep, Michael B. Jordan, Oprah Winfrey, and Sofia Coppola are named to be honored at the Academy of Motion Pictures’ 2023 Academy Museum gala, set for October 14.

The Film Academy highlighted in their announcement of this year’s awardees that the event has been approved by WGA and SAG-AFTRA as it is a fundraiser.

The event will raise funding for exhibitions, education initiatives, and public programming, including screenings, K-12 programs, and access initiatives in service of the general public and the local community of Los Angeles.

The Academy Museum Gala is co-chaired by Academy Award-nominated director Ava DuVernay, Academy Museum Trustee, physician, producer, philanthropist, and entrepreneur Dr. Eric Esrailian, Academy Award-winning actor and Academy Museum supporter Halle Berry, and Academy Museum Trustee and screenwriter, director, and producer Ryan Murphy.

Last year the Academy Museum gala honorees included Julia Roberts, Miky Lee, Steve McQueen, and Tilda Swinton.

Meryl Streep will be honored with the Icon Award, which is given as a celebration of an artist whose career has had a significant global cultural impact.

The Vantage Award will be presented to Michael B. Jordan, honoring an emerging artist or scholar who is helping to contextualize and challenge dominant narratives around cinema.

Oprah Winfrey will be received the Pillar Award, which acknowledges exemplary leadership and support for the Academy Museum, while Sofia Coppola will be given the Visionary Award, which honors an artist or scholar whose innovations have advanced the art of cinema.

This year’s Academy Museum gala will be the second anniversary of the Academy’s Museum of Motion Pictures.

Similar Post